Anacyclus L.

Anacyclus is a genus of 12 species (Oberprieler & al. 2007), all native to the Mediterranean region. Few species are weeds of agricultural fields and occur beyond their native distribution range.

Anacyclus closely resembles other genera of the tribe Anthemideae (Anthemis, Cladanthus, Cota,…) but has dorsally compressed fruits with lateral wings. It is furthermore separated by its tubular florets with markedly unequal lobes, two being much longer than the three others.

  • Ligules white. Inner involucral bracts without a broad scarious margin === 1. Anacyclus clavatus
  • Ligules yellow. Inner involucral bracts with a broad scarious margin === 2. Anacyclus radiatus

Additional alien: Anacyclus valentinus L. (W-Medit., vector unknown). This species was recently found in imported Olea-containers from southern Europe (Hoste & al. 2009).


Ehrendorfer F., Schweizer D., Greger H. & Humphries C. (1977) Chromosome banding and synthetic systematics in Anacyclus (Asteraceae - Anthemideae). Taxon 26 (4): 387-394.

Greger H. (1978) Comparative phytochemistry and systematics of Anacyclus. Biochem. Syst. Ecol. 6(1): 11-17.

Humphries C.J. (1979) A taxonomic revision of the genus Anacyclus L. (Compositae: Anthemideae). Bull. Brit. Mus. (Nat. Hist.), Bot. 7: 83-142.

Khandzhyan N.S. (1986) Kriticheskie zametki k rodu Anacyclus (Asteraceae-Anthemideae). (Critical notes on the genus Anacyclus (Asteraceae-Anthemideae).) Bot. Zhurn. 71(3): 354-357.

Oberprieler C. (2001) Phylogenetic relationships in Anthemis L. (Compositae, Anthemideae) based on nrDNA ITS sequence variation. Taxon 50: 745-762.

Oberprieler C., Himmelreich S. & Vogt R. (2007) A new subtribal classification of the tribe Anthemideae (Compositae). Willdenowia 37: 89-114.

Schweizer D. & Ehrendorfer F. (1976) Giemsa banded karyotypes, systematics, and evolution in Anacyclus (Asteraceae - Anthemideae). Pl. Syst. Evol. 126(2): 107-148.

Taxonomic name: 
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith